The Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five years old.

All schools and Ofsted registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The main areas of learning are divided into seven areas split between Prime and Specific areas of learning.

The Prime areas of learning are:

The prime areas of learning are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Teaching and learning at Thorplands Nursery is conducted by learning through play, following the statutory guidance of the EYFS and with an emphasis on creative curriculum. We endeavour to plan using the children’s interests and ensuring that they are equipped for the next stage of their nursery journey and finally onto school. We promote independence and self regulation of children’s own learning, feelings and emotions.

It is our aim for every child to make outstanding progress and for key workers work with children, parents and professionals to ensure children are reaching their potential and beyond.
Our latest OFSTED report is available online with the grading of ‘Good’ in all areas.

Nursery Forms and Fees

About Us

Thorplands Primary School joined the Northamption Primary Academies Trust on June 1st 2018. We work closely with NPAT to ensure continued high standards of values, behaviour and encourage everyone to go beyond the expected. This has become the school's mission statement: Work, Learn, Earn

Upcoming Events

No events found

Contact Us

Principal: Madeline Dunckley
Thorplands Academy
Farm Field Court

Tel: 01604 493384